Login Register

Whitstone School pupils celebrate GCSE success

By fsingleton  |  Posted: December 08, 2013

Whitstone School pupils celebrate GCSE success

Whitstone School pupils celebrate GCSE success

Comments (0)

WHITSTONE School pupils and staff have celebrated achieving their best ever GCSE results with an awards ceremony.

Head teacher Gill Rennard congratulated students on their results and said three-quarters achieved at least five higher grade GCSEs, the best results the school has ever had.

She said: “I could give you a long list of your academic achievements as a year group, but we are not here to celebrate the school’s achievements, we are here to recognise what you have achieved as individuals and what the statistics never acknowledge; the individuals who were targeted F grades and achieved Ds and Es or those who were targeted Cs and Bs and achieved As.

“This evening is also about celebrating your contributions in other ways: your good manners, your good humour, your contributions to all aspects of school life, the numerous times you ‘got it right’ and the way the vast majority of you took responsibility when you ‘got it wrong’.

“You really were a superb year group.”

Awards were handed out for each academic subject alongside some special awards.

Jess Marshall won the head teacher’s award for Head Girl and Josh Phillips for Head Boy.

Veyndan Stuart was awarded the Whitstone Award for Academic Excellence and the Richard Waterer Award for Music.

The Whitstone Award for Exceptional Endeavor was scooped by Peter Douglass, and Paige Manvill won the Joe Horler Memorial Award for Music.

Carlos Monterio won the Rory Bizley Award for PE and Kayleigh Hannah the Applied Learning award.

Other award-winners were: Jack Collis (Resistant Materials Technology); William Meaden (Systems Technology); Kirsty Gribbin (Textile Technology); Harry Jupp (English); Holly Stowell-Connelly (Religious Studies); Tilly Smith (Art); Matthew Blake (Drama); Peter Douglass (ICT); Jamie Bowles (Mathematics); Simone Young (Science); Lucy Pitman (Dance); Sophie Robertson (Health and Social Care); Ross Barham (Sports Studies); Emily Luckstead (French); Rhys Chamberlain (Geography); Saffron Watts (German); and Dom Weston (History).

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters