Login Register

Welsh rugby legend Gareth Edwards to receive Rugby Legends Awards in aid of The Willow Foundation

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: September 03, 2014

Comments (0)

Welsh rugby legend Gareth Edwards is to receive an award for his outstanding contribution to the sport.

The former scrum half, who is one of only a small group of players to have won three Grand Slams, will accept the top accolade at the annual Rugby Legends Awards.

Edwards will also take part in a Q&A session about his achievements and influences.

This will include awards to those who played a key part in his career, including Clive Rowland, the former Welsh captain, scrum half and Edwards’ coach.

The awards dinner will raise money for The Willow Foundation, a national charity which organises Special Days for people aged 16 to 40 with serious illnesses.

The charity was founded by former Arsenal goalkeeper and sports presenter Bob Wilson and his wife Megs in memory of their daughter, Anna, who died of cancer at the age of 31.

Willow has since fulfilled more than 10,000 Special Days for people living with life-threatening conditions such as cancer, cystic fibrosis, motor neurone disease, muscular dystrophy, organ failure and Huntington’s.

The Rugby Legends Awards will be held at The Brewery in London on October 1.

The ceremony will be hosted by broadcaster John Inverdale and former England and British Lions lock Martin Bayfield.

Guests are set to include Maggie Alphonsi, John Dawes, Jeff Probyn, Lee Mears, Clive Rowlands, Catherine Spencer and Rory Underwood.

Winners of the Player of the Year and Special Merit awards will be announced on the night. A special award will also be presented in light of the recent success at the Women’s Rugby World Cup.

For more information or to book tickets, visit www.willowfoundation.org.uk/rugbylegendsawards.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters