Login Register

Trials round-up: Matt McDonald wins expert class at Hound Tor

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: December 28, 2012

Comments (0)

The busy West of England club completed their year-long “easy” trials series with a three-lap 12-section event at Hound Tor on the outskirts of Widecombe-in-the Moor in Devon.

And whilst many clubs struggle to get sufficient entries to make events a viable proposition, the organisers were inundated with 118 competitors. Being on one of the shortest days of the year a scheduled fourth lap had to be deleted.

A mixture of rain and hail created tough conditions on Dartmoor. The hazards were sufficiently challenging to keep competitors warm, but for the hardy observers it was a far different story.

The expert class on the green route was won by Matt McDonald by just two marks from West Somerset teenager Tom Hooper. The lead changed hands on several occasions before McDonald went ahead halfway through the final lap.

After them just nine marks separated Peter Rew, Rob Pollard and Rob Wrayford.

Mick Thompson from Bude recently won the clubman expert championship in the Cornwall Centre and he netted another success in this South West Centre event by finishing five marks up on Roland Broom. But it was not a clearcut win, as Nick Manuel and Mike Champion were also in contention until the end of the second lap.

The pre-1965 class on the yellow route featured a four- way battle between Colin Dommett, Roger Morgan, Jock Lickett and Nick Smith early on, but Dommett outshone his rivals on the last lap.

Stuart Keedwell led the twin shock class on the same route at the halfway stage. In the end he lost out to Martyn Hitchcott by six.

Despite flooding in many parts of Cornwall, the Camborne-Redruth club was able to stage their final trial of 2012 at Burthy Row Farm, Fraddon. Winner of the main expert class over a three-lap 16-section course was Keelan Hancock, whose experience of difficult events paid dividends.

The closest result was in the clubman class on a slightly easier route where Phil Wickett gained a single mark win over Ian Baker. Wickett gained the advantage on the first two laps but Baker hit back on the final lap and just failed to draw level. Paul Warman took the major award in the non-expert class but behind him Chris Tabb, Keith Worden and Richard Parkyn were separated by a tie-breaker after all three had lost the same amount of marks.

The Somerton Classic Club’s trial at Gurney Slade on December 27 was cancelled due to flooding.


West of England MCC trial at Hound Tor, Devon – Green Route. Expert class awards: M McDonald 49 marks lost, T Hooper 51, P Rew 70, R Pollard 78, R Wrayford 79.

Green/Red route, Clubman expert: M Thompson 34, R Broom 39, N Manuel 43, M Champion 44, L Mill 63.

Red route, Clubman: D Norrish 22, R Gittins 33, S Sheridan 36, P Wickett 54.

Novice: M Watmore 29, B Clack 77. Over 50 years: A Barnes 43, K Worden 73, M Harris 107. Pre 1965J Ashford 21. Pastmasters: C Green 23, A Rew 37, I Baker 43, M Gilbert 65. Youth B Class: J Church 87. Youth C Class: B Green 53, T Churchill 98.

Yellow route awards, Novice: M Thompson 20, G Friendship 27, T Jellico 28, N Brock 28. Over 50 years: D Fry 14, P Salter 19, M Cox 22, P Hodder 27. Pre 1965: C Dommett 12, R Morgan 19, J Luckett 19, N Smith 24. Twin Shock: M Hitchcott 22, S Keedwell 28, M James 42, P Tupman 44. Youth B Class:R Carter 21, C Baker 54, J Wilcox 60, D King 67. C Class: T Church 49.

White route awards, novice: N Cawsley 42, T Ponting 50, R Mumford 60. Over 50 years: B Gollner 25, B Batten 60. Youth B Class: L Bartlett 86. Youth C Class: L Nicholls 79. Youth D Class:L Manuel 58.

Camborne-Redruth MCC trial at Fraddon, Cornwall – Expert class awards: K Hancock 36 marks lost, S Wooldridge 82. Clubman expert: M Tabb 53, T Hendra 85, A Coombes 125. Clubman awards: P Wickett 19, I Baker 20, A Muller 32, G Lowe 43, J Young 46, C Williams 49.

On same route – twin shock: P Atkins 41. Youth A Class: M Diment 136. Youth B Class: M Luscombe 75. Non expert awards: P Warman 35, C Tabb 38, K Worden 38, R Parkyn 38, A Gent 41. Novice awards: C Young 14, A Verco 17, M Hancock 25, T Savage 27. Twin Shock awards: T Wooldridge 24, K Hawke 27, P Bullen 55, K Verco 55.

Youth Class B: A Diment 39. Youth Class C: P Horn 77, J Wright 120. Best Trail Bike: A Skelton 59. Best beginner: I Jago 98.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters