Login Register

Phil Taylor: Players Championship win at Butlins Minehead ideal preparation for 2013 Ladbrokes World Darts Championship

By This is Somerset  |  Posted: December 04, 2012

  • Phil Taylor receives the Cash Converters Players Championship title at Butlins Minehead. Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Comments (0)

Darts legend Phil Taylor has described his Cash Converters Players Championship victory in Somerset at the weekend as ideal preparation for his bid to clinch a 16th world title.

Taylor has been drawn against Northern Ireland's left-hander Michael Mansell in the first round of the 2013 Ladbrokes World Championship, which gets under way at London's Alexandra Palace next Friday.

On Sunday, he won the Players Championship crown with a 13-6 victory over Kim Huybrechts in the final at the impressive Butlins Minehead venue.

Now he's aiming to win the world title he last raised in 2010.

Related content

"Winning the Players Championship Finals was brilliant because you can't get anything better than winning tournaments," said Taylor, 52.

"I'm pleased with how my form's building and I've put a lot of work in so far but I'll be putting in plenty of practice in the next week or so to make sure I'm ready.

"Michael's a really tough opponent, he's a solid player and he's dangerous.

"It would be a massive achievement to win the World Championship again but this year would be extra special if I was the first player to win the Sid Waddell Trophy.

"We all miss Sid and this is a brilliant tribute to him to have the new trophy named in his memory."

The draw for the £1 million tournament was made this morning alongside the unveiling of the specially-commissioned new World Championship trophy, named in memory of the late Sky Sports commentator.


Wes Newton (6) v Johnny Haines

Raymond van Barneveld (13) v Michael Smith

Andy Smith (21) v Gurney/Marijanovic

Gary Anderson (4) v Komula/Haavisto

Kim Huybrechts (27) v Scott Rand

Andy Hamilton (8) v James Richardson

Ronnie Baxter (18) v Dennis Priestley

Vincent van der Voort (19) v Stuart Kellett

Robert Thornton (17) v Magnus Caris

Paul Nicholson (16) v Co Stompe

Peter Wright (26) v Arron Monk

Simon Whitlock (5) v Muramatsu/Harrington

Michael van Gerwen (7) v Lim/Latif Sapup

Dave Chisnall (12) v Shane Tichowitsch

Denis Ovens (31) v Hopp/Pietersen

Mervyn King (14) v Dean Winstanley

Steve Beaton (30) v Kyle Anderson

Justin Pipe (11) v Andy Jenkins

Mark Walsh (22) v Darren Webster

Colin Osborne (28) v Ilagan/Lewis

Wayne Jones (32) v Jerry Hendriks

James Wade (3) v Peter Hudson

Jamie Caven (29) v Rodriguez/Bowles

Kevin Painter (15) v Welge/Chun Nam

Colin Lloyd (23) v Darin Young

Mark Webster (10) v Ian White

Brendan Dolan (20) v Mark Jones

Phil Taylor (1) v Michael Mansell

Adrian Lewis (2) v Gino Vos

Richie Burnett (25) v James Hubbard

Terry Jenkins (9) v Steve Brown

John Part (24) v Joe Cullen


Photos: Cash Converters Players Championship - day three

Photos: Cash Converters Players Championship - day two

Photos: Cash Converters Players Championship - day one

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters