Login Register

Motocross round-up: Tommy Searle opens Maxxis British Championship with double

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: March 19, 2013

Tommy Searle got off to a flier in the British Morocross Championships. Photo: Dave Rich

Comments (0)

Tommy Searle, who was the best British rider in the first two rounds of the World Motocross Championships in Qatar and Thailand, got away to an excellent start in the Maxxis Tyres-backed British series by winning both open class races at Amthorpe, near Doncaster on Sunday.

The start was delayed whilst track staff got rid of surface water lying inches deep on the track after a night of torrential rain and the programme was shortened to the two open class and 250cc events and one youth race.

Searle won his first race by 25 seconds but it took him ten of the 13 laps to pass early leader Kristian Whatley and Spanish contender Jonathan Barraghan.

Nicholas Aubin set the pace in the second encounter, but he lost the lead to Searle after only one lap and the latter stayed in front and won by an 18 seconds margin.

Estonian Tanel Leok got the better of a scrap with Barraghan and Whatley for second place after five laps.

East Anglian Elliott Banks-Browne fought off an early challenge from Steve Lenior and Martin Barr in the first 250cc race after his arch rival Mel Pocock went out with machine problems on the opening lap, but the latter finished half a minute in front of Banks-Browne in the second race after both had displaced initial leader Graeme Irwin on the second lap.

South West Centre champion Joe Baker established an advantage in the current series with a seven mark win over Yeovil’s Ricky Wiggins in the third round at Kilkhampton, near Bude after they had shared the points in the first two rounds on Exmoor and Tiverton.

Staged by the Torridge club over three laps of a dozen sections at Hessaford Farm, Baker was two marks down on Wiggins on completion of the first lap after he had passed the incorrect side of a section marker in the sixth. However an excellent second lap that cost him just two marks put him in front and he rounded off the event with a final lap that cost him three to Wiggins eight.

Former four times British Sidecar Trial champions Jon Tuck and Matt Sparks came out of retirement for the BSSA’s Reg Lewis Trophy event at Compton Greenfield and they took the Premier award in a two lap, ten section event at Elmington Manor Farm. They lost single marks in the first, second and fifth sections but on one lap they incurred a maximum mark penalty on a climb in the third section. Rob Scott was best clubman in the solo event that was determined over four laps.

Heavy overnight rain on Friday caused the cancellation of the Chard club’s SWOR Series Motocross at Tiverton.

“The track was fine but we could not get into the paddock to park the riders,” said club chairman Bob Butler.

Other meetings at Crediton and Holsworthy were also ruled out by the latest wet weather.


British Motocross Championship (first round) at Amthorpe, Doncaster – Open class, 1st race: 1, T Searle (Kawasaki); 2, J Barraghan (KTM); 3, K Whatley (Yamaha); 4, S Ramon (Honda). Second race: 1, Searle; 2, T Leok (Honda); 3, Barraghan; 4, Whatley.

250cc, 1st race: 1, E Banks-Browne (KTM); 2, S Lenior (KTM); 3, M Barr (KTM); 4, A Sterry (KTM). Second race: 1, M Pocock (Yamaha); 2, Banks-Browne; 3, G Irwin (Suzuki); 4, Lenior. Youth race: 1, J Adamson (KTM); 2, E Davidson (Kawasaki); 3, O Osmaston (Honda); 4, M Callaghan (Honda).

Torridge MCC South West Centre Championship Trial at Kilkhampton, Bude, Cornwall – Expert class awards: J Baker 13 marks lost, R Wiggins 20, G Laming 61. Clubman expert awards: M Thompson 23, S Wooldridge 33, J Davidson 56. Clubman: M Champion 15, D Richards 28, A Muller 43. Pastmasters: R Martin 17, P Wickett 22, N Andrew 38. Novice: D Lulham 26, M Thompson 33, D Greener 43. Youth B class: G Marshman 28, J Church 68, T Rendall 73. Over 50 years: G Mackie 5, S Thornhill 10, A Barnes 23.

BSSA (Wessex) Reg Lewis Sidecar and Solo Trials at Compton Greenfield, near Bristol – Sidecar awards: J Tuck/M Sparks (Ossa) 9 marks lost; P Avery/D Tuck (Gas Gas) 24; A Scrivens/M Lawford (Beta) 32; J & L Golding (Beta) 39. Best Solo Clubman expert: S Sinclair (Beta) 42. Clubman awards: R Scott (Gas Gas) 23, R Hilton (Gas Gas) 36, A Kibby (Beta) 42. Novice awards: A Dark (Sherco) 38, N Sheppard (Bultaco) 53, P Smith (Gas Gas) 60.

Taunton MCC Trial at Yarcombe, Devon – Clubman awards: J Davidson (Sherco) 27 marks lost; B Male (Sherco) 50. Non experts: S Collins (Beta) 16, M Latchford (Beta) 21. Over 50 years: M Cox (Gas Gas) 8. Pre-1965: N Smith (Triumph) 10, N Hammersley (Triumph) 14; J Pym (Trifield) 17. Twin Shock awards: T Heard (Yamaha) 10, M Palfrey (Honda) 14, S Keedwell (Fantic) 17. Youth A class: L Dascombe (Scorpa) 19.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters