Login Register

Motocross round-up: Kevin Strijbos and Elliott Banks-Browne win British titles

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: October 09, 2012

  • Elliott Banks-Brown (number 44) heads the pack in the first MX2 race at Little Silver in Devon. Photo by Dave Rich

Comments (0)

British rider Elliott Banks-Browne and Belgian Kevin Strijbos are the new British motocross champions.

In the final round of the Maxxis Tyres-backed series at Little Silver, near Exeter, Strijbos gained the 18 points that he needed to take the open class title by finishing second to his closest rival Shaun Simpson in the first 14-lap race at the weekend.

He won the second encounter after Simpson came to grief on the final lap of a rather processional race.

In the 250cc class Mel Pocock went in to the final races with a 16 point advantage over Banks-Browne. He lay second to Scot Bryan Mackenzie in the tension packed first race for two laps, but then he spluttered to a halt with engine problems.

Seizing his chance with both hands, East Anglian Banks-Browne powered past Mackenzie before half distance and after winning by seven seconds he had a nine-point lead over Pocock.

The latter needed to finish in the top three to qualify for the mixed class race at the end of the day, but it was Mackenzie who made another superb start with Pocock and Banks-Browne snapping at his heels.

Banks-Browne slid off on the third lap, but he was up and away again without losing a place and after five laps he displaced Pocock and both rivals were now closing on Mackenzie.

Then with three laps remaining Banks-Browne stalled his engine and lost half a dozen places before he could restart. Taking advantage, Pocock passed Mackenzie and went on to win. With Banks-Browne finishing sixth he now led the title chase by a single point and the outcome was now hinged on the final race.

Although pitted against the open class contestants, Banks-Browne led the 40-minute race for seven laps before losing the advantage to Simpson, but with Pocock finishing in fifth place he was the new champion by a matter of five points.

Veteran Phil Mercer broke his collar bone in a crash during practice but after receiving medical attention he insisted on riding and he clinched the veteran championship with third and second place finishes. At the other end of the age scale teenager Josh Gilbert from St Austell won both races to win the 85cc youth title.

Conditions were ideal for the final Quarter Mile Sprint meeting staged by the National Sprint Association at Westonzoyland, near Bridgwater.

Barry Varndell from Fareham returned the fastest time in 9.04 seconds, which gave him a terminal speed of an incredible 158 miles an hour.

There were double wins for Alan Tinnion and in the vintage classes for John Young and Henry Body, and the latter also took the 500cc sidecar class win.

Father and son Mark and Craig Talbot have to share the main award in the Wilts Border Club’s trial at Stanton St Quinton, near Chippenham, after they both finished the five-lap event with clean sheets.

The Wells club had to call off their proposed timed and observation trial at Emborough as the venue was waterlogged after Friday’s rain.


British Championship Motocross (final round) at Exminster, Devon – Open class, 1st race: 1, S Simpson (Yamaha); 2, K Strijbos (KTM); 3, N Aubin (Honda); 4, B Anderson (Honda). Second race: 1, Strijbos; 2, Simpson; 3, Anderson; 4, J Dougan (Honda).

250cc 1st race: 1, E Banks-Browne (KTM); 2, B Mackenzie (KTM); 3, G Irwin (Yamaha); 4, L Tombs (Honda). Second race: 1, M Pocock (Yamaha); 2, Mackenzie; 3, Irwin; 4, A Sterry (Honda).

Mixed open class and 250cc: 1, Simpson; 2, Banks-Browne; 3, Strijbos; 4, G Krestinov (Honda).

Veterans championship, 1st race: 1, G Hoptrough (Honda); 2, G Hanson (Kawasaki); 3, P Mercer (KTM); 4, T House (Yamaha). Second race: 1, Hoptrough; 2, Mercer; 3, Hanson; 4, House.

Youth championship, 1st race: 1, J Gilbert (Yamaha); 2, T Kellett (Kawasaki); 3, L Houghton (KTM); 4, R Yates (Suzuki). Second race: 1, Gilbert; 2, Houghton; 3, Kellett; 4, Yates.

Final championship standings – Open class: Strijbos 530 pts, Simpson 477, Krestinov 363; Karro 308. Veterans: Mercer 134, Hoptrough 131, Hanson 122, House 118. Youth: Gilbert 125, Kellett 117, Keogh 113, Houghton 103.

National Sprint Association Quarter Mile meeting at Westonzoyland, Somerset, Racing class – 125cc: P Wilson (Yamaha) 70secs, terminal speed 91mph; 250cc: T Sanchez (Suzuki) 11.67 – 84; 400cc K Laker (Yamaha) 12.63 – 107; 750cc: A Tinnion (Yamaha) 10.45 – 134; 1000cc: D Glover (Ducati) 10.19 – 132; Unlimited: T Davenidge Snr (Suzuki) 10.24 – 130. Road Legal class – 250cc: G Parkinson (Suzuki) 13.15 – 105; 400cc: M Jenkinson (Yamaha) 16.68 – 96; 750cc: A Tinnion (Yamaha) 10.98 – 119; 1000cc: A Bury (Yamaha) 11.30 – 122. Unlimited: F Granger (Hayabusi) 10.55 – 138. Super Street: B Varndell (Kawasaki) 9.04 – 158. Junior: T Davenidge Jnr (Honda) 14.45 – 91. Vintage – 250cc: H Body (Excelsior) 17.56 – 71; 350cc: J Young (Triumph) 14.28 – 91; 500cc: J Young (Triumph) 12.78 – 106; Unlimited: H Body (Douglas) 12.40 – 109. Classic non Japanese: D Joy (Triumph) 12.07 – 109. Japanese: R Broom (Yamaha) 11.93 – 107. Scooter: B West (Lambretta) 16.80 – 91. Three wheelers – 500cc: H Body (Douglas) 14.58 – 91. Unlimited: D Dunk (Honda) 13.72 – 95.

Otter Vale MCC National Trial at Sidford, Devon – Expert class awards: M McDonal (Jotages) 8 marks lost; G Pollard (Beta) 12; P Rew (Beta) 22; H Pym (Beta) 28. Clubman: J Gammons (Gas Gas) 6; R Fry (Gas Gas) 16; A Muller (Sherco) 18; G Harding (Beta) 25; G Harding (Beta) 25. Pre 1975: S Dommett (DOT) 3; R Bowyer (Triumph) 3; P Anstey (James) 6; M Wilmore (BSA) 14. Twin Shock: K Nolan (SWM) 6; S Hiscock (Fantic) 11; S Mepham (Honda) 14; G Herbert (Fantic) 17. Air cooled: R Williams (Yamaha) 1; C Koch (Yamaha) 2. Over 40 years: S Levett (Jotagas) 1; D Wasley (Fantic) 2; M Reason (Beta) 3; A Hall (Beta) 4. Over 50: K Hart (Beta) 0; J Oliver (Ossa) 3; N Andrew (Beta) 4; D Richards (Ossa) 4. Over 60: A Collier (Beta) 12; M Whitlow (Honda) 27; K Wells (Honda) 73.

Wilts Border MCC Trial at Stanton St Quinton, Chippenham – Joint winners: M Talbot (Beta) no marks lost; C Talbot (Beta no marks lost. First class awards: V Payne (Beta) 1; O Humphries (Beta) 1. Alternative course award: M Strang (Gas Gas) no marks lost.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters