Login Register

Motocross round-up: Jamie Skuse wins South West Premier Motocross title

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: October 23, 2012

  • Jamie Skuse was in top form at the final round on the Expert Open class and became 2012 South West Premier Expert Open Champion. Photo by Dave Rich

Comments (0)

Calne agricultural engineer Jamie Skuse is the new Premiership Motocross champion.

He and Tiverton’s Luke Hill went into the final round of the ten-part series at Ladram Bay in East Devon on Saturday separated by just ten points.

Both scored race wins but at the end of the day Skuse had a 12-point advantage.

Skuse and Hill showed that they meant business by heading the field off the start line in the first race, but within a lap both had been overtaken my Midsomer Norton’s Luke Hawkins, who went on to win the race by six seconds, with Skuse finishing 15 seconds in front of Hill.

Hawkins went down at the first turn in the second encounter and on completion of the opening lap he was second from last. However, he made rapid progress and picked off his rivals lap by lap, which included Hill. Before the finish he was hounding Lewis Gregory and winner Skuse.

Hill led the third race from start to finish with Luke Mellows and Skuse snapping at his heels. Hawkins made a bad start and in trying to make up lost ground he ran off track and decided to call it a day.

Truro veteran Jason Fraser clinched the over 35 years title with a win and two second places.

Plymouth rider Ryan Blee looked certain to take the junior title after winning the first race and finishing second in the second. He still had to finish the final race to become champion and had his heart in his mouth when he fell at the first corner off the start. He took a long time to restart his bike but managed to dash through the field to finish seventh and become champion.

Jason Hamblin was a clear winner of the trials class in the North Somerset Club’s two- hour Gordon Brown Timed and Observation Trial at Ubley Drive, near Charterhouse on the Mendips on Sunday. He finished second to Charlie Frost on time and with runner-up Paul Manning he did not lose any marks on observation in the 16-lap event.

Third finisher Nick Sheppard lost five marks on observation in the fifth section on an S bend climb over rocks and roots. Andy Scrivens was a trifle slower than Frost in completing the event but he won the class after losing less marks in the half dozen sections.

A record entry of 95 took part in the Bath Classic Club’s four lap, ten section trial on Lansdown the same day. Dorset’s Steve Hand was winner of the main Unit Construction class on the main route with a single mark lost in the ninth section. His brother Roger took second place even though he suffered a five-mark penalty in the second section, and over 50 years class winner Chris Wrigley lost his only mark in the same section.

Twin Shock class winner Nigel Tomkins retained a clean sheet in which Tim Wheeler lost his chances of winning by a too hasty approach to the third section. Despite losing maximum marks in a combined gully and bank climbs in the seventh section, David Gollicker was best performer in the Unit Class on the alternative route.


Final rounds of Premiership Motocross at Ladram Bay, East Devon – Experts, 1st race: 1, L Hawkins (KTM); 2, J Skuse (Suzuki); 3, L Hill (Honda; 4, D Shears (Yamaha). Second race: 1, Skuse; 2, L Gregory (Suzuki); 3, Hawkins; 4, Hill. Third race: 1, Hill; 2, L Mellows (Suzuki); 3, Skuse; 4, Gregory.

Final championship positions: Skuse 1477pts, Hill 1465, Mellows 1314, K Townsend 1099, Shears 1047, J Day 1003.

Over 35 years, 1st race: 1, R Hanson (Yamaha); 2, J Fraser (KTM); 3, M Wilde (Kawasaki); 4, J Lock (Kawasaki). Second race: 1, Fraser; 2, Wilde; 3, Lock; 4, M Roberts (Honda). Third race: 1, Wilde; 2, Fraser; 3, Hanson; 4, G Flagg (Honda).

Junior Championship, 1st race: 1, R Blee (Kawasaki); 2, B Butler (KTM); 3, R Churchill (Yamaha); 4, J Broadway (Kawasaki). Second race: 1, R Holyoake (Suzuki); 2, Blee; 3, Butler; 4, Broadway. Third race: 1, L Barfoot (KTM); 2, Butler; 3, Churchill; 4, Broadway.

Championship points: Blee 4397, Owens 4216, A Austin 4078, L Maggio 4035, Barfoot 3955, G Norman 3909.

Over 40 years champion: P Ayres; over 50: T Lowe. Junior group B race winners: R Wilkins (1), S Sansom (2).

North Somerset MSC Two Hour Timed and Observation Trial at Charterhouse-on-Mendip – Winner: J Hamblin (Yamaha) completed 16 laps, lost 3 marks on time, none on observation = 3 marks lost. Runner-up: P Manning (Beta) 16l, 12+0=12. First class awards: N Sheppard (Sherco) 16l,15+5=20; L Stringer (Sherco) 16l, 12+9=21; J Adams (Sherco) 16l, 10+17=27. Best non expert: J Blacker (Sherco) 16l, 35+50=85. Best novice: A Cooper (Beta) 16l, 34+71=105. Enduro class awards: A Scrivens (KTM) 16l, 5+31=36; C Frost (KTM) 16l, 0+39=39; S Dexter (Suzuki) 16l, 9+39=48; T Walters (Suzuki) 16l, 24+44=68.

Bath Classic MCC Trial at Lansdown, Bath – Maine Route awards – Pre Unit Construction: B Barthorpe (Ariel) 12 marks lost; N Smith (Triumph) 12.

Unit Construction: S Hand (James) 1; R Hand (Francis Barnett) 8; M Fear (Triumph) 13; R Townsend (BSA) 13. Twin Shocks: N Tomkins (Majesty) 0; T Wheeler (Majesty) 1; S Redworth (Kawasaki) 2; A Dark (Bultaco) 3. Over 50 years modern: C Wrigley (Beta) 1; R Jefferies (Gas Gas) 2; B Shuttleworth (Beta) 7; W Andrews (Beta) 12. Rigid frames: T Hartwell (AJS) 23; S O’Connor (Norton) 40; L Starrs (Ariel) 42. Alternative route awards – Unit Construction: D Gollicker (Triumph) 8; T Wall (Cotton) 10; J Foot (BSA) 11; M Aven (BSA) 14. Pre Unit Construction: N Townsend (Matchless) 21; S James (Ariel) 35; P Collins (Ariel) 35. Twin Shocks: B Honeybunn (Yamaha) 16; G King (Fantic) 18; D Froggatt (Whitehawk) 20; P Aven (Yamaha) 24. Over 50 years modern: B Phelps (Gas Gas) 3; M Pike (Beta) 8; P Smith (Gas Gas) 13; G Stagg (Beta) 27.

Lyn MCC Trial at Ilfracombe, North Devon – Expert class awards: J Baker (Scorpa) 4 marks lost; T Bushin (Beta) 37; C Atkinson (Gas Gas) 44; N Baker (Sherco) 45. Youth A class: J Baker (Gas Gas) 96. Clubman expert awards: K Bushin (Gas Gas) 42; M Thompson (Beta) 47; S Fack (Beta) 51; J Bright (Beta) 59. Clubman: N Andrew (Beta) 48; R Gittins (Beta) 51; D Stephenson (Gas Gas) 60; C Wellburn (Scorpa) 69. Past Masters: M Champion (Gas Gas) 29; J Anstey (Gas Gas) 39; P Wickett (Beta) 40; C Green (Montesa) 44. Over 50 years: A Barnes (Gas Gas) 4; S Thornhill (Beta) 5; D Fry (Gas Gas) 7; M Jacobs (Beta) 8. Novice: M Aldred (Montesa) 11; N England (Gas Gas) 12; T Godwin (Beta) 19; T Wooldridge (Yamaha) 23. Pre 1965: I Baker (Cotswold) 0; V Stevens (James) 74.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters