Login Register

Motocross round-up: Antonio Cairoli retains MX1 lead in FIM World Motocross Championships

By Western Daily Press  |  Posted: June 11, 2013

Dutchman Jeffrey Herlings went through the pain barrier in the MX2 class to win both races at Ernée in France. Picture: Dave Rich

Comments (0)

Frenchman Gautier Paulin had the home supporters roaring as he won the opening MX1 class race in round eight of the FIM World Motocross Championships at Ernée.

Championship leader Antonio Cairoli led for ten of the 20-lap race before Paulin took over and held off a late challenge from the Italian to take the win by just one and a half seconds.

In the second MX1 race there was drama on the first corner with several riders going down, but out at the front straight away was Cairoli.

He dominated the race from the front and took the win from Belgian Clement Desalle by ten seconds with Britain’s top runner Tommy Searle a close third. Paulin was taken out to the outside as a result of the crash and he was down in sixth, but he fought back to finish fourth to be on the second step of the podium.

British rider Searle started down in 12th in the first race, but he managed to finish seventh in front of Max Nagl with who he had a thrilling battle during most of the race. In the second heat Searle had a much better start and his third place gave him the fourth overall position, his best ever result in the MX1 class so far.

In the MX2 class Championship leader Jeffrey Herlings was riding with a lot of pain after a crash in qualifying, but was determined to give it a go.

In the opening race it wasn’t long before the Dutchman Herlings was leading, but he was soon put under pressure from Frenchman Dylan Ferrandis who was urged on by a excited home crowd.

Ferrandis did pass for a short while, but Herlings came back to take the lead and went on to notch up the win with Ferrandis a close second.

In the second moto Britain’s Jake Nicholls led the race for the opening four laps before Ferrandis took the lead .

But a mistake from Ferrandis a lap later saw Nicholls regain the lead.

Herlings moved up to second and soon to piled on the pressure. He passed Nicholls at half distance and from there went on to take the win despite a late charge from Ferrandis.


FIM World Motocross Championships, Ernée – MX1 Race 1: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 39:21.019; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.453; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:23.523; 4. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:43.389; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:49.635; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Honda), +0:50.808; 7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:53.198; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), +0:55.094; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:10.101; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:12.061; 13th Shaun Simpson (GBR) TM. Race 2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:28.802; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:10.539; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:11.974; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:21.491; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), +0:26.433; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:32.766; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, KTM), +0:44.837; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:53.614; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:03.414; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, KTM), +1:21.781; 27th Simpson (GBR)

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 377 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 321 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 309 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, KTM), 277 p.; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 243 p.; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 239 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Honda), 190 p.; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 171 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 168 p.; 10. David Philippaerts (ITA, Honda), 145 p.

MX2 Race 1: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 39:45.493; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.937; 3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:07.723; 4. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:15.739; 5. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:22.737; 6. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:26.455; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, Suzuki), +0:38.353; 8. Alexander Tonkov (RUS, Honda), +0:43.173; 9. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +0:48.472; 10. Petar Petrov (BUL, Yamaha), +0:50.642; 18th Elliott Banks-Browne (GBR) KTM 21st Lewis Tombs (GBR) Honda 30th Mel Pocock (GBR) Yamaha. Race 2: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 39:59.717; 2. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:05.696; 3. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +0:07.504; 4. Alexander Tonkov (RUS, Honda), +0:11.672; 5. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:17.524; 6. Dean Ferris (AUS, Yamaha), +0:20.958; 7. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:21.805; 8. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:31.110; 9. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:35.715; 10. Jason Clermont (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:39.720; 14th Anstie (GBR); 19th Pocock (GBR); 24th Banks-Browne (GBR); 26th Lewis Tombs (GBR).

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 397 points; 2. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 287 p.; 3. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 247 p.; 4. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 237 p.; 5. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 230 p.; 6. Dean Ferris (AUS, Yamaha), 197 p.; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, Suzuki), 193 p.; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 181 p.; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), 162 p.; 10. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki), 149 p.

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters