Login Register

Jos Buttler in England squad for limited-overs matches in Australia

By GeraintTucker  |  Posted: December 10, 2013

Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler is in the England squad for the limited-overs matches in Australia

Comments (0)

Jos Buttler has been confirmed in the England One-Day International and Twenty20 squads for matches against Australia early next year.

The wicketkeeper from Wedmore, who moved to Lancashire after the 2013 season having previously spent his whole career with Somerset, is part of a 16-man squad for the five-match ODI series with the Aussies.

He is also in the 15-man squad which will then play three Twenty20 matches against the hosts after the end of the Ashes Test series, in which England are 2-0 down after the opening two matches.

Buttler, 23, is already Down Under as part of the the England Performance Programme and will be playing in the domestic T20 competition in Australia ahead of the limited-overs series.

Related content

He will have the chance to add to his 19 ODI appearances and 25 Twenty20 caps when the series starts with an ODI at the MCG on Sunday, January 12.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We have an important period of limited-overs cricket coming up with an ICC World T20 in Bangladesh in March and we are just over a year away from the ICC Cricket World Cup in New Zealand and Australia.

"These two series against Australia allow valuable opportunities for players to push for places in both squads and given the rivalry between the sides both series will no doubt be keenly contested."

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Tredwell (Kent).

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, capt), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Tredwell (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex).

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters