Login Register

James Wright and Kyle Newman added to Somerset Rebels Christmas Cracker

By This is Somerset  |  Posted: November 28, 2012

  • Kyle Newman will ride in the Somerset Rebels Christmas Cracker

Comments (0)

Twelve of the 16 riders who will compete in the Somerset Rebels Christmas Cracker speedway meeting have been confirmed.

Another five riders have signed up to compete in the Salt Express-sponsored meeting at the Oaktree Arena on Friday, December 28.

Among the entries are Rebels duo James Wright and Kyle Newman, who is due to return to the UK on Christmas Eve after a stint riding in Australia as part of the Darren and Sharon Boocock Scholarship.

The field will now also include Swede Jacob Thorssell, who rode for Elite League Wolverhampton last season, Richard Hall and a rider who was making great strides in 2012 before injury brought his season to a premature end, Richie Worrall.

Related content

Worrall became the first British rider in nearly a decade to qualify for the World Under-21 Championship, but a broken leg sustained mid-way through the 2012 campaign denied him the chance of competing in the seven-round series.

For Thorssell, part of the next generation of riders coming through from Sweden, it will be his first appearance at Somerset’s Oaktree Arena.

He has represented his country at both Under-19 and Under-21 level, while Hall is one of those ‘all-action’ fan favourites who has secured a place in next season’s World Longtrack Championship Series.

There are now just four places left to fill, and meeting coordinator Garry May said: "The line-up is coming together nicely.

"In fact, with the number of riders who have contacted me to ask for a place, I think we could have put two meetings on.

“We hope to be in a position of being able to announce the final four riders next week together with the ‘finer’ details of the meeting such as some of the other attractions that will be taking place prior to the meeting itself.


Ricky Ashworth

Ben Barker

Lewis Bridger

Ryan Fisher

Richard Hall

David Howe

Simon Lambert

Kyle Newman

Randy Oldenziel

Jacob Thorssell

Richie Worrall

James Wright

Read more from Western Daily Press

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters